Section 43-35-11 of North Dakota Century Code states:
CERTIFICATE REQUIRED - A person, partnership, firm, corporation, or limited liability company may not engage in the business of water well contracting or water well pump and pitless unit installation, monitoring well contracting, or geothermal system drilling unless certified to do so by the board of water well contractors.
Section 43-35-13 of North Dakota Century Code states in part:
CERTIFICATE - How obtained -- Fee. Any person who takes the examination to become a certified geothermal system driller must first complete either a minimum of one year of apprenticeship under the direct supervision of a certified geothermal system driller or have a minimum of two thousand forty installation hours of experience in geothermal system drilling working under the direct supervision of a certified geothermal system driller, or, in the alternative, must first complete career and technical education relating to geothermal system drilling lasting at least one school year.
A person applying to take a certification examination shall pay to the board treasurer a nonrefundable examination fee in the amount of one hundred dollars.
Therefore, it will be necessary for you to provide documentation regarding your actual experience in geothermal construction during the past year. References must also be provided who can attest to your geothermal experience. The information and references must be received at least 30 days prior to the exam as references must be checked and submitted to the ND Board of Water Well Contractors for their approval. The law requires that written notification of the board's approval be sent out at least 10 days before the test is given.
The certification exam is given quarterly in February, May, August, and November. The fee for taking the exam is $100. Upon successful completion of the exam and furnishing a surety bond in the amount of $2,000, an annual certification fee of $200 will also be required. The bond and certification fee must be furnished within six (6) months of the exam date or the test will have to be repeated.
Information regarding Geothermal Well Contractor Rules Regulations and Permits:https://www.dmr.nd.gov/ndgs/geothermal/