Section 43-35-11 of North Dakota Century Code states:
CERTIFICATE REQUIRED - A person, partnership, firm, corporation, or limited liability company may not engage in the business of water well contracting or water well pump and pitless unit installation, monitoring well contracting, or geothermal system drilling unless certified to do so by the board of water well contractors.
Section 43-35-13 of North Dakota Century Code states in part:
CERTIFICATE - How obtained -- Fee. Any person who takes the examination to become a certified water well pump and pitless unit installer must first complete a minimum of one-year apprenticeship or experience in water well pump and pitless unit installation under the direct supervision of a certified water well pump and pitless unit installer or have completed a career and technical education program of at least one year in water well pump and pitless unit.
A person applying to take a certification examination shall pay to the board treasurer a nonrefundable examination fee in the amount of one hundred dollars.
Section 90-02-02-02.1 of North Dakota Administrative Code states
DEFINITION OF ONE YEAR'S EXPERIENCE One year of experience as required by statute consists of twelve months of full-time employment in constructing water wells, installing pump and pitless units, or constructing monitoring wells under the direct supervision of a certified water well contractor, pump and pitless unit installer, or monitoring well contractor which experience has occurred during the three years immediately preceding the date of application, or suitable vocational training approved by the board. The board may, upon application and request, approve equivalent experience under a nonlicensed water well contractor, pump and pitless unit installer, or monitoring well contractor if the experience was in a state other than North Dakota and if the board is satisfied that the experience was the equivalent of working under a certified water well contractor in North Dakota. The board may certify other experience as equivalent as it finds appropriate.
Therefore, it will be necessary for you to provide documentation regarding your actual experience in installing pump and pitless units during the past three years. This should include the number of pumps or pitless units, which you installed, the approximate dates (month, year) the installations were made, the well owner and any other information that would be helpful in evaluating your experience. Three references must also be provided who can attest to your experience installing pumps and pitless units during the past three years. The information and references must be received at least 30 days prior to the exam as references must be checked and submitted to the ND Board of Water Well Contractors for their approval. Section 43-35-12 of North Dakota Century Code requires that written notification of the board's approval be sent out at least 10 days before the test is given.
The certification exam is given quarterly in February, May, August, and November. The fee for taking the exam is $100. Upon successful completion of the exam and furnishing a surety bond in the amount of $2,000, an annual certification fee of $100 will also be required. The bond and certification fee must be furnished within six (6) months of the exam date or the test will have to be repeated.